New Commission named at Tri-Annual Communication

Provincial Grand Lodge of Renfrewshire East held its Tri-Annual Communication on Friday, 28tht October in the premises of Lodge Union & Crown No.307 in Barrhead – the penultimate meeting to be convened under the stewardship of current PGM Bro. John S. Miller.

It was announced that his successor – DPGM Bro Neil Fraser – had been confirmed as PGM Designate at Grand Lodge. He takes up his position as PGM on 2 February 2017 and will be Installed by the Grand Master Mason at a ceremony to be held in Paisley Town Hall on the afternoon of Saturday, 18 March 2017.

The PGM Designate said he was “humbled” at being given the opportunity to follow previous PGMs of Renfrewshire East who had left such a fine legacy and told the 92 assembled Brethren that he would need the support of all the Lodges in the Province.

He then named his Depute as Bro. Robert M. McPhee and Substitute PGMs as Bro. Gavin Burt, Bro. Alick Currie and Bro. Chris Kerr. Bro. Ronnie Fraser would take over as PG Secretary and Bro. J. Clark Leiper will continue as PG Treasurer.

The three present PG Chaplains, Bro. Pastor William Shirlaw, Bro. Rev. Iain Ramsden and Bro. Rev. Robert Craig would remain in office.

Earlier in the proceedings, eulogies were given in respect of Bro. Charles W. McCall PM Lodge St. Andrew No.524 and Bro. John (Jack) Brown PM Lodge Thistle and Crown No.1167. A further eulogy due to be given in s respect of Bro. Alexander McGill PM Lodge Sir George Cathcart No.617 was held over until the next meeting.

Following usual business reports, PG Secretary, Bro. Grant Macleod, read the names of PG Office-Bearers for 2017-2018.

Some of the sports prizewinners with PGM Bro. John S. Miller (centre) and PGM Designate Bro Neil Fraser (right of group)
Some of the sports prizewinners with PGM Bro. John S. Miller (centre) and PGM Designate Bro Neil Fraser (right of group)

The PGM, Bro. John S. Miller then made reports on the continuing success of the Province’s Intender Training programme that had attracted interest throughout Scotland and the UK as well as other parts of the world including the USA, Canada and Malaysia. At the request of Grand Lodge copies of the programme have been sent to every Scottish District abroad.

He also noted the international interest there had been in the PGLRE website that had attracted over 6000 visitors in the past year from more than a hundred countries across the world.

Commenting further on the education programme, the PGM advised that copies of the Province’s new “Enlightenment” booklets have been forwarded to a number of PGLs at their request.

The PGM commented on the recent successful piloting of the “walk through” Degrees throughout the Province and said that copies of the EA and FC Templates were now available on request via PG Secretary.

He also spoke of the valuable feed-back from both the recent discussions at the recently formed Young Masons’ Forum and the on-line questionnaire and also commended the PG on-line Library which had more than 4000 Masonic related books available.

Level 2 Intender Certificates were presented by the PGM to Bro. John Lang, Bro. Neil Fraser, Bro. Gavin Burt, Bro. Alick Currie, Bro.Brian Shields, Bro. Michael Meldrum and Bro. William MacKay.

IPPGM, Bro. David A. Reid reported as part of Marcus Humphrey House 25th Anniversary the Province had raised £9000 through a special Degree hosted by Lodge Prince of Wales and the annual barbeque. This would go towards a special bath being installed at MHH and necessary roof work.

It was announced that Grand Lodge office-bearers from the Province due to be installed were Bro. William H. Gauld as Grand Director of Ceremonies, Bro. David A. Reid as Grand Sword Bearer, Bro. Rev. Iain Ramsden as Junior Grand Chaplain and Bros. James M.Harper and Andrew G.G. McFadden as Grand Stewards.

The business of the evening concluded with the presentation of sporting silverware won by Brethren who took part in the Golf, Bowling and Angling Competitions with the various cups and trophies being handed to the winners or their lodge representatives by the PGM Bro John S. Miller.

In bowling the Blythswood Trophy was won by Lodge Craigilea No.1218, Sam Love Trophy went to Lodge Thorntree No.512 and the Craigends Quaich won by Lodge St Barcham No.156.

In golf competions the McMenemy Trophy was won by Lodge Douglas Np.1557, the Major F.W. Allen Trophy went to Lodge Houston St Johnstone No.242. the Bobby Watt Memorial was won by Bro. David Roberts of Lodge Houston St Johnstone. No. 242 and the Stableford Competition won by. Bro. Ross McLelland of Lodge Prince of Wales No.426.

Prizes presented for the angling competitions went to Lodge Gleniffer No.1219 and Bro.John Smart, Lodge Renfrew County Kilwinning No.370.

In his closing remarks, IPPGM Bro. David A. Reid spoke of the “great legacy” being left by the present Commission and warmly congratulated the new PGM Designate on his appointment.

PPGSW, Bro. Terry Robinson was thanked by the PGM for his work in seeing to the restoration of the DoC’s baton.

The evening was concluded with a Harmony of tea, coffee and snacks provided by Lodge Union & Crown No 307 with their RWM, Bro. Ian Blair, being thanked by PGM, Bro. John S. Miller for the use of their premises.

PGL Elective Offices 2017


WSW                                       Pat Kelly

WJW                                       Neil Terras

Treasurer                              Clark Leiper

Secretary                                Ronnie Fraser

Almoner                                 Douglas Fulton

Snr. Deacon                           David Watt

Jnr Deacon                             Gordon Campbell                                                  

DOC                                        Brian Shields

Asst. DOC                               Michael Meldrum                          

Architect                                 Andrew Greig

Jeweller                                  Jim Scott

Bible Bearer                          Hugh Gilmour

Bard                                       Bill McKay

Sword Bearer                         John Lang

Organist                                Razvan Luculescu

Piper                                     Michael Dailly                        

Marshal                                 David Watson                     

Standard Bearer                    Jamie Barton                              

Inner Guard                           Jeff Bailey

Pres. Stewards                     Gavin Gilmour

Tyler                                       Billy McMahon


Stewards 2017

Scott Bogle               156                                                                      

Jim Kavanagh           1170

Stuart Brown          1566

Robert Polson            1219

Ken Stein ( Media)   1706

Jeff Bailey                 458

James Richardson     1361

Gus Ferguson           1359

David Gardiner         1265